Deciding on a film title:

Choosing a name for a short film is one of the most difficult things to do. As the screenwriter it was my job to think of a name. I wanted to have a short, snappy and memorable title for our film as it’s only going to be between 5-6 minutes long. I didn’t want to give too much away with the film title, but I wanted it to strongly reflect the theme of the film.
I decided on ‘The Edge’ as I felt it was both metaphorical for the way the main character Eli is feeling like he’s been pushed to the edge of his life, as well as being a literal description of the setting of the film being at the edge of a cliff. At first the title ‘The Edge’ was just a drafted title as we came up with something better, as I initially thought it was worded too simply. During our Kickstarter launch we used the title ‘The Edge’ as we hadn’t come up with anything else, and we thought it would have more of an impact if the project had a name. The response we got from the title was excellent and it actually encouraged us to keep it as the title.

I started looking at some font types on the website dafont.com to use for our posters etc. I found looking at font types helped me picture the title alongside the film. I want black block font as I feel this has the most impact with a short film title.

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 17.46.01Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 17.46.35Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 17.48.08

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 17.21.20

This is the font that was decided on for the final pilot, it’s called Minimal. We decided on using a white font as we felt it stood out on the background of the misty sea.

Leave a Reply

