Drafts of Script – The Edge

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 22.30.47

These are all the drafts of the script I have done. With each version I’ve added ideas.

First draft:

EXT. BEACHY HEAD – DAWN

The sound of sea lapping against the cliffs, seagulls
calling. A man stands by the edge of the cliff, he tightens
his scarf and zips his tatty black, Bench jacket up.  He
scratches his unkempt beard and the wind makes his eyes
water. This is Eli. His phone starts to ring. He removes it
from his pocket and looks at it. The call display shows
‘Home’. Without thinking twice he throws the phone over the
cliff edge. His eyes are running from the wind. He looks
down at his feet. He stops and thinks. Contemplating. He
instinctively turns around to see someone walking towards
him. A smaller figure approaches, he watches her
suspiciously as she walks towards him. He turns back to the
cliff edge. The woman is dressed in a dark purple coat,
buttoned tightly. This is Imelda. She moves close to Eli and
stands next to him, too close for two strangers to stand
next to one another. Eli looks to his right, surprised at
this old woman’s arrival, surprised that she’s daring enough
to stand next to a complete stranger on the edge of a cliff.

IMELDA
We always wanted a little boy.

Eli looks back at the sea. She continues.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
I’d have been happy just to have
the one.

Eli clears his throat. But doesn’t say anything.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
It’s funny how things work out.
I’ve always been a firm believer of
everything happening for a reason.

Eli stands and listens. Imelda tucks her hands into her
pockets. They look at each other for a moment, very briefly
and then Eli looks back onto the crashing waves below.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
It’s nice up here isn’t it?
soothing. Have you been before?

He nods his head.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
Me and my fella used to come up
here all the time, with little
Benji. Annoying little bastard (she
smiles) I hated that dog but he
insisted that we needed a hobby,
something to get us out of the
house. He cried his eyes out when
that dog died, I was relieved.

Eli stills says nothing and looks blankly out to sea. The
wind blows hard between them. Imelda turns from him and
looks to the sea.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
Do you want to go first or shall
I?

Eli looks at her with understanding. She’s finally got his
attention.

ELI
We had a dog when I was growing up.
Well it was my dad’s, (he says
‘dad’s’ bitterly) a greyhound
called Hercules. What a stupid name
for a dog.

Imelda smiles, proud to have finally got a reaction out of
him.

ELI (CONT’D)
He never used to let me walk it.

IMELDA
Lets be honest, dog walking is
overrated, carrying a bag full of
shit is hardy glamorous.

ELI
It’s not that. It was the fact he
didn’t trust me to look after his
precious Hercules.

IMELDA
Sounds like Hercules could look
after himself with a name like
that.

ELI
Fancy calling your dog Hercules and
your son Elijah.

Imelda looks at him with an intense look on her face. A
seagull squawks overhead, breaking her concentration, they
both look up into the early morning sky.

ELI (CONT’D)
His dog was named after the ‘son of
God’, and I’m just named after a
prophet.

IMELDA
Would you of rather been called
Hercules?

Eli looks at her thoughtfully, as if he’s never really
considered it before.

ELI
No, I suppose not.

There’s a moments silence as they both gaze out onto the sea
waves peacefully.

IMELDA
The sea’s a weird thing isn’t it?

ELI
I love it.

IMELDA
Yeah me too. It’s peaceful… yet
destructive.

Eli winces at the word destructive, turning his head from
Imelda so she can’t see the tears in his eyes. Imelda looks
at him, concerned, but refrains from saying anything. He
takes a deep breath and wipes his tear stinging eyes, still
facing away from her.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
The sea waves are supposed to be
therapeutic. I get that. There’s
nothing quite as tranquil as
immersing your head under the
water, blocking out all the noise
and shit going on in the world, and
just being at one with the sea.

Eli finally turns back to face Imelda.

ELI
Might be a bit cold for that here.

Imelda laughs.

IMELDA
Well cold water’s supposed to be
good for you.

ELI
Maybe, but nothing can compare to
the Coral Sea.

IMEDLA
Where’s that?

ELI
Off the northeast coast of
Australia.

IMELDA
I’m assuming you’ve been? Unless
you’re an oceanographer…

Eli smiles.

ELI
Yeah, I’ve been. I went travelling
through Australia and NewZealand
when I graduated, I was working my
way through the top ten beaches in
Oz. Bondi beach, Lizard island,
Byron Bay… but I had to come back
here before I could see them all.

IMELDA
Why did you have to come back, if
you don’t mind me asking?
ELI (sarcastically) Family
responsibilities.

Imelda doesn’t say anything, as if she know’s he doesn’t
want to talk about it. Eli sighs, walks closer to the edge
of the cliff and sits down, dangling his legs over the sheer
drop. Imelda moves nearer to him, not sitting down herself.
The two sit/stand there in a moments silence before Eli
speaks again.

ELI
It’s the most beautiful place I’ve
ever been to.

IMELDA
I’ve seen pictures of Byron Bay, my
fellas niece lives there, it does
look pretty magical. I’m not
accustomed to the hot weather
myself.

Eli laughs and points at himself.

ELI
And you think I am? look how fair I
am! But the sunburn is worth the
clear blue sea and white sand
beaches.

IMELDA
I’m more of a rough waves, rainy
skies and pebble beaches kinda
woman myself.

ELI
Don’t get me wrong, I find any
beach beautiful, hot or cold. But
Australia was something special,
the way of life out there was just
amazing.

IMELDA
My fellas niece never came back
once she went. She was only
supposed to go travelling after she
graduated, like you, but she met a
hunky aussie and stayed there with
him. It’s been almost 10 years now.

ELI
That’s the dream.

Imelda raises her eyebrows, and Eli looks embarrassed.

ELI (CONT’D)
Not meeting a hunky Aussie. Just
having a real, solid reason to stay
there, forever.

IMELDA
Wanting to do something is reason
enough surely?

Eli contemplates this for a second. Fiddling with his hands
as his legs agitatedly swing back and forth over the cliff
edge. He mutters something un-audible under his breath.
Imelda leans in closer to hear what he’s saying.

ELI
Kangaroos.

Imelda looks over at him wide-eyed with confusion.

IMELDA
Kangaroos?

ELI
Kangaroos, they only ever move
forwards, never backwards.

Imelda smiles.

IMELDA
Well if I was you I’d go back
there.

ELI
It’s not as simple as that.

IMELDA
I’m sure it’s not, but as you can
see life is too short to not do the
things that make us happy.

FINAL SCENE:

(Eli is sitting down on the cliff edge at this point and
Imelda is standing up to the right of him) Eli is staring
wide eyed down off the cliff edge as if he is deciding
whether or not he’s going to jump. He kicks his dangling
legs anxiously as waves crash beneath him. His fingernails
are digging into the earth as his hands tightly grip onto
the grass behind him. After a short while of staring down at
the waves, he sits forward and slowly pushes himself to an
upright standing position, during this transition from
sitting to standing, his foot slips and he almost falls.

ELI
Shit. That was close.

Eli smooths down his hair and exhales deeply. He turns to
his right, expectantly. He looks confused, as Imelda is
nowhere to be seen. He then looks to his left. He does a 360
degree scan of Beachy Head, pacing frantically, the clifftop
is empty. Eli closes his eyes for a short moment, takes a
deep breath returns to the edge of the cliff. He looks down
onto the waves below, he scans the sea, looking to the right
and then left, but he can’t see anything. He steps backwards
from the cliff edge, still confused, and looks up into the
sky.

Second draft:

EXT. BEACHY HEAD – DAWN

The sound of sea lapping against the cliffs, seagulls
calling. A man stands by the edge of the cliff, he tightens
his scarf and zips his tatty black, Bench jacket up.  He
scratches his unkempt beard and the wind makes his eyes
water. This is Eli. His phone starts to ring. He removes it
from his pocket and looks at it. The call display shows
‘Home’. Without thinking twice he throws the phone over the
cliff edge. His eyes are running from the wind. He looks
down at his feet. He stops and thinks. Contemplating. He
instinctively turns around to see someone walking towards
him. A smaller figure approaches, he watches her
suspiciously as she walks towards him. He turns back to the
cliff edge. The woman is dressed in a dark purple coat,
buttoned tightly. This is Imelda. She moves close to Eli and
stands next to him, too close for two strangers to stand
next to one another. Eli looks to his right, surprised at
this old woman’s arrival, surprised that she’s daring enough
to stand next to a complete stranger on the edge of a cliff.

IMELDA
We always wanted a little boy.

Eli looks back at the sea. She continues.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
I’d have been happy just to have
the one.

Eli clears his throat. But doesn’t say anything.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
It’s funny how things work out.
I’ve always been a firm believer of
everything happening for a reason.

Eli stands and listens. Imelda tucks her hands into her
pockets. They look at each other for a moment, very briefly
and then Eli looks back onto the crashing waves below.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
It’s nice up here isn’t it?
soothing. Have you been before?

He nods his head.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
Me and my fella used to come up
here all the time, with little
Benji. Annoying little bastard (she
smiles) I hated that dog but he
insisted that we needed a hobby,
something to get us out of the
house. He cried his eyes out when
that dog died, I was relieved.

Eli stills says nothing and looks blankly out to sea. The
wind blows hard between them. Imelda turns from him and
looks to the sea.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
Do you want to go first or shall
I?

Eli looks at her with understanding. She’s finally got his
attention.

ELI
We had a dog when I was growing up.
Well it was my dad’s, (he says
‘dad’s’ bitterly) a greyhound
called Hercules. What a stupid name
for a dog.

Imelda smiles, proud to have finally got a reaction out of
him.

ELI (CONT’D)
He never used to let me walk it.

IMELDA
Lets be honest, dog walking is
overrated, carrying a poop bag is
hardy enjoyable.

ELI
It’s not that. It was the fact he
didn’t trust me to look after his
precious Hercules.

IMELDA
Sounds like Hercules could look
after himself with a name like
that.

ELI
Fancy calling your dog Hercules and
your son Elijah.

Imelda looks at him with an intense look on her face. A
seagull squawks overhead, breaking her concentration, they
both look up into the early morning sky.

ELI (CONT’D)
His dog was named after the ‘son of
God’, and I’m just named after a
prophet.

IMELDA
Would you of rather been called
Hercules?

Eli looks at her thoughtfully, as if he’s never really
considered it before.

ELI
No, I suppose not.

There’s a moments silence as they both gaze out onto the sea
waves peacefully.

IMELDA
The sea’s a weird thing isn’t it?

ELI
I love it.

IMELDA
Yeah me too. It’s peaceful… yet
destructive.

Eli winces at the word destructive, turning his head from
Imelda so she can’t see the tears in his eyes. Imelda looks
at him, concerned, but refrains from saying anything. He
takes a deep breath and wipes his tear stinging eyes, still
facing away from her.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
The sea waves are supposed to be
therapeutic. I get that. There’s
nothing quite as tranquil as
immersing your head under the
water, blocking out all the noise
and shit going on in the world, and
just being at one with the sea.

Eli finally turns back to face Imelda.

ELI
Might be a bit cold for that here.

Imelda laughs.

IMELDA
Well cold water’s supposed to be
good for you.

ELI
Maybe, but nothing can compare to
the Coral Sea.

IMEDLA
Where’s that?

ELI
Off the northeast coast of
Australia.

IMELDA
I’m assuming you’ve been? Unless
you’re an oceanographer…

Eli smiles.

ELI
Yeah, I’ve been. I went travelling
through Australia and NewZealand
when I graduated, I was working my
way through the top ten beaches in
Oz. Bondi beach, Lizard island,
Byron Bay… but I had to come back
here before I could see them all.

IMELDA
Why did you have to come back, if
you don’t mind me asking?

ELI (SARCASTICALLY)
Family responsibilities.

Imelda doesn’t say anything, as if she’s waiting for Eli to
continue. Eli sighs, walks closer to the edge of the cliff
and sits down, dangling his legs over the sheer drop. Imelda
moves nearer to him, not sitting down herself. The two
sit/stand there in a moments silence before Eli speaks
again.

ELI
My dad tricked me into coming back.
He didn’t approve of me to going
the first place. The only way I was
able to afford it was with some
money I had inherited.

IMELDA
Tricked you?

ELI
Tax lawyers have an amazing natural
ability to lie through their teeth.

ELI (CONT’D)
He told me my mum was ill. The kind
of ill that would make a son come
running half way across the world
for.

IMELDA
And she wasn’t ill?

ELI
No she was. That wasn’t the part he
lied about.

ELI (CONT’D)
By the time he had finally managed
to track me down in Australia, my
mum had already passed. He
pretended that she was still alive
to get me to come back. He knew if
he told me the truth he’d never see
me again, and there would be nobody
to eventually take over his Law
Corporation.

IMELDA
Wow.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
I’m lost for words, and as you can
probably tell that’s a rarity.

ELI

The two look out onto the sea, with nothing left for either
to say.

 

FINAL SCENE:

(Eli is sitting down on the cliff edge at this point and
Imelda is standing up to the right of him) Eli is staring
wide eyed down off the cliff edge as if he is deciding
whether or not he’s going to jump. He kicks his dangling
legs anxiously as waves crash beneath him. His fingernails
are digging into the earth as his hands tightly grip onto
the grass behind him. After a short while of staring down at
the waves, he sits forward and slowly pushes himself to an
upright standing position, during this transition from
sitting to standing, his foot slips and he almost falls.

ELI
Shit. That was close.

Eli smooths down his hair and exhales deeply. He turns to
his right, expectantly. He looks confused, as Imelda is
nowhere to be seen. He then looks to his left. He does a 360
degree scan of Beachy Head, pacing frantically, the clifftop
is empty. Eli closes his eyes for a short moment, takes a
deep breath returns to the edge of the cliff. He looks down
onto the waves below, he scans the sea, looking to the right
and then left, but he can’t see anything. He steps backwards
from the cliff edge, still confused, and looks up into the
sky.

Third draft:
EXT. BEACHY HEAD – DAWN

The sound of sea lapping against the cliffs, seagulls
calling out into the bright morning sky. A man stands by the
edge of a cliff, he tightens his scarf and zips up his black
jacket. He scratches his unkempt beard and the vicious wind
makes his eyes water. This is Eli. His phone starts to ring,
he removes it from his jean pocket and looks at it. The
caller ID shows ‘home’. Without thinking twice he launches
the phone over the cliff edge. His eyes are now running from
the wind. He looks down at his feet. He stops and thinks.
Contemplating. He instinctively turns around to see someone
walking towards him in the distance. He squints his eyes at
the figure approaching him, it’s a small older woman. This
is Imelda. Not bothered by her arrival he turns back to
focus his attention over the cliff edge. She is dressed in a
dark purple coat, buttoned tightly. She moves close to Eli
and stands on his right-hand side. The two strangers stand
there in silences for a few moments.

IMELDA
We always wanted a boy.

Eli looks back at the sea. She continues.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
I’d have been happy just to have
the one.

Eli clears his throat but doesn’t say anything

IMELDA (CONT’D)
It’s funny how things work out.
I’ve always been a firm believer
that everything happens for a
reason.

Eli stands and listens. Imelda tucks her hands into her
pockets. They look at each other for a moment, very briefly
and then Eli returns his gaze to the crashing waves below.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
It’s nice up here isn’t it?
Soothing. Have you been before?

He nods his head but says nothing.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
Me and my fella used to come up
here all the time, with little
Benji. Annoying little bastards was
that dog. He insisted we needed a
hobby, something to get us out of
the house. He cried his eyes when
that dog died, I was relieved.

Eli stares blanking out to sea. The wind blows hard between
them. Imelda turns from him and looks to the sea.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
Do you want to go first or shall I?

Eli looks at her with understanding. She’s finally got his
attention.

ELI
We had a dog when I was growing up.
Well it was my dads. A greyhound
called Hercules. What a stupid name
for a dog.

Imelda smiles. Proud to have finally got a reaction out of
him.

ELI (CONT’D)
He never used to let me walk it.

IMELDA
Lets be honest, dog walking is
overrated, carrying a bag of shite
isn’t how I like spending my
weekends.

ELI
No it’s not that. It was the fact
he didn’t trust me to look after
his precious Hercules.

IMELDA
With a name like Hercules you’d
expect it to be able to look after
itself.

ELI
Who calls their dog Hercules and
their son Elijah.

Imelda looks at him with an intense look on her face. A
seagull squawks overhead, breaking her concentration, they
both look up into the early morning sky.

ELI (CONT’D)
His dog was named after the ‘son of
God’, and I’m just named after a
prophet.

IMELDA
Would you of rather been called
Hercules?

Eli looks thoughtfully, as he’s never really considered it
before.

ELI
No, I suppose not.

There’s more silence as they both gaze out onto the sea
waves peacefully.

IMELDA
The sea’s a weird thing isn’t it?

ELI
I love it.

IMELDA
yeah me too. It’s peaceful… yes
destructive.

Eli winces at the word destructive, turning his head from
Imelda so she can’t see the tears in his eyes. Imelda looks
at him, concerned, but refrains from saying anything. Eli
takes a deep breath and wipes his tear stinging eyes, still
facing away from her.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
The sea waves are supposed to be
therapeutic. I get that. There’s
nothing quite as tranquil as
immersing your head under the
water, blocking out all the noise
and shite going on in the world,
and just being at one with the sea.

Eli finally turns back to face Imelda.

ELI
Might be a bit cold for that here.

Imelda laughs.

IMELDA
Well cold water’s supposed to be
good for you.

ELI
Maybe. But nothing compares to the
Coral Sea.

IMELDA
Where’s that?

ELI
Off the Northeast coast of
Australia.

IMELDA
I’m assuming you’ve been? Unless
you’re an oceanographer or
something…

Eli smiles.

ELI
Yeah I’ve been. I went traveling
through NewZealand and Australia
when I graduated. I was working my
way through the top ten beaches in
Oz. Bondi Beach, Lizard Island,
Byron Bay… but I had to come back
here before I could see them all.

IMELDA
Why did you have to come back?

ELI
Family responsibilities.

Imelda doesn’t say anything more. It’s clear he doesn’t want
to talk about it. Eli sighs, walks closer to the edge and
and sits down, dangling his legs over the sheer drop. Imelda
moves nearer to him, not sitting down herself. The two
sit/stand there in a moments silence before Eli breaks the
silence.

ELI
It’s the most beautiful place I’ve
ever been to.

IMELDA
My fellas niece went and never came
back. She was only supposed to go
travelling after she graduated,
like you, but she met a hunky
aussie and stayed there with him.
It’s been almost ten years now.

ELI
That’s the dream.

Imelda raises her eyebrows.

ELI (CONT’D)
Just having a real, solid reason to
stay there, forever.

IMELDA
Wanting to do something is reason
enough surely?

Eli contemplates this for a second. Fiddling with his hands
as his legs agitatedly swing back and forth over the cliff
edge. He mutters something un-audible under his breath.
Imelda leans in closer to hear what he’s saying.

ELI
Kangaroos.

Imelda looks over at him, wide-eyed with confusion.

IMELDA
Kangaroos?

ELI
Kangaroos, they only ever move
forward, never backwards.

Imelda smiles.

IMELDA
Well if I was you I’d go back
there.

ELI
It’s not as simple as that.

IMELDA
I’m sure it’s not, but as you can
see life is too short to not do the
things that make us happy.

The two remain silent for some time. Eli is staring, eyes
wide, down the edge of the cliff as if he’s deciding whether
or not to jump.He kicks his dangling legs anxiously as waves
crash beneath him. His fingernails are digging into the
earth as his hands tightly grip onto the grass behind him.
After a short while of staring down at the wabes, he sits
forward and slowly pushes himself to an upright standing
position, during this transition from sitting to standing,
his foot slips and he almost falls.

ELI
Shit, that was close.

Eli  smooths down his hair and exhales deeply. He turns to
his right, expectantly. He looks confused as Imelda is
nowhere to be seen. He stands at the edge of the cliff, all
alone.

END

Fourth draft:

EXT. BEACHY HEAD – DAWN

The sound of sea lapping against the cliffs, seagulls
calling out into the bright morning sky. A man stands by the
edge of a cliff, he tightens his scarf and zips up his black
jacket. He scratches his unkempt beard and the vicious wind
makes his eyes water. This is Eli. His phone starts to ring,
he removes it from his jean pocket and looks at it. The
caller ID shows ‘home’. Without thinking twice he launches
the phone over the cliff edge. His eyes are now running from
the wind. He looks down at his feet. He stops and thinks.
Contemplating. He instinctively turns around to see someone
walking towards him in the distance. He squints his eyes at
the figure approaching him, it’s a small older woman. This
is Imelda. Not bothered by her arrival he turns back to
focus his attention over the cliff edge. She is dressed in a
dark purple coat, buttoned tightly. She moves close to Eli
and stands on his right-hand side. The two strangers stand
there in silences for a few moments.

IMELDA
We always wanted a boy.

Eli looks back at the sea. She continues.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
I’d have been happy just to have
the one. My fella was obsessed with
having two boys.

Eli clears his throat but doesn’t say anything

IMELDA (CONT’D)
It’s funny how things work out.
I’ve always been a firm believer
that everything happens for a
reason.

Eli stands and listens. Imelda tucks her hands into her
pockets. They look at each other for a moment, very briefly
and then Eli returns his gaze to the crashing waves below.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
It’s nice up here isn’t it?
Soothing. Have you been before?

He nods his head but says nothing.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
Me and my fella used to come up
here all the time, with little
Benji. Annoying little bastard was
that dog. He insisted we needed a
hobby, something to get us out of
the house. He cried his eyes when
that dog died, I was relieved.

Eli stares blanking out to sea. The wind blows hard between
them. Imelda turns from him and looks to the sea.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
Do you want to go first or shall I?

Eli looks at her with understanding. She’s finally got his
attention.

ELI
We had a dog when I was growing up.
Well it was my dads. A greyhound
called Hercules. What a stupid name
for a dog.

Imelda smiles. Proud to have finally got a reaction out of
him.

ELI (CONT’D)
He never used to let me walk it.

IMELDA
Lets be honest, dog walking is
overrated, carrying a bag of shite
isn’t how I like spending my
weekends.

ELI
No it’s not that. It was the fact
he didn’t trust me to look after
his precious Hercules.

IMELDA
With a name like Hercules you’d
expect it to be able to look after
itself.

ELI
Who calls their dog Hercules and
their son Elijah.

Imelda looks at him with an intense look on her face. A
seagull squawks overhead, breaking her concentration, they
both look up into the early morning sky.

ELI (CONT’D)
His dog was named after the ‘son of
God’, and I’m just named after a
prophet.

IMELDA
Would you of rather been called
Hercules?

Eli looks thoughtfully, as he’s never really considered it
before.

ELI
No, I suppose not.

There’s more silence as they both gaze out onto the sea
waves peacefully.

IMELDA
The sea’s a weird thing isn’t it?

ELI
I love it.

IMELDA
yeah me too. It’s peaceful… yet
destructive.

Eli winces at the word destructive, turning his head from
Imelda so she can’t see the tears in his eyes. Imelda looks
at him, concerned, but refrains from saying anything. Eli
takes a deep breath and wipes his tear stinging eyes, still
facing away from her.

IMELDA (CONT’D)
The sea waves are supposed to be
therapeutic. I get that. There’s
nothing quite as tranquil as
immersing your head under the
water, blocking out all the noise
and shite going on in the world,
and just being at one with the sea.

Eli finally turns back to face Imelda.

ELI
Might be a bit cold for that here.

Imelda laughs.

IMELDA
Well cold water’s supposed to be
good for you.

ELI
Maybe. But nothing compares to the
Coral Sea.

IMELDA
Where’s that?

ELI
Off the Northeast coast of
Australia.

IMELDA
I’m assuming you’ve been? Unless
you’re an oceanographer or
something…

Eli smiles.

ELI
Yeah I’ve been. I went traveling
through NewZealand and Australia
when I graduated. I was working my
way through the top ten beaches in
Oz. Bondi Beach, Lizard Island,
Byron Bay… but I had to come back
here before I could see them all.

IMELDA
Why did you have to come back?

ELI
Family responsibilities.

Imelda doesn’t say anything more. It’s clear he doesn’t want
to talk about it. Eli sighs, walks closer to the edge and
and sits down, dangling his legs over the sheer drop. Imelda
moves nearer to him, not sitting down herself. The two
sit/stand there in a moments silence before Eli breaks the
silence.

ELI
It’s the most beautiful place I’ve
ever been to.

IMELDA
My fellas niece went and never came
back. She was only supposed to go
travelling after she graduated,
like you, but she met a hunky
Aussie and stayed there with him.
It’s been almost ten years now.

ELI
That’s the dream.

Imelda raises her eyebrows.

ELI (CONT’D)
Just having a real, solid reason to
stay there, forever.

IMELDA
Wanting to do something is reason
enough surely?

Eli contemplates this for a second. Fiddling with his hands
as his legs agitatedly swing back and forth over the cliff
edge. He mutters something un-audible under his breath.
Imelda leans in closer to hear what he’s saying.

ELI
Kangaroos.

Imelda looks over at him, wide-eyed with confusion.

IMELDA
Kangaroos?

ELI
Kangaroos, they only ever move
forward, never backwards.

Imelda smiles.

IMELDA
Well if I was you I’d go back
there.

ELI
It’s not as simple as that.

IMELDA
I’m sure it’s not, but as you can
see life is too short to not do the
things that make us happy.

ELI
Eric would agree with you.

IMELDA
Who’s Eric?

ELI
My twin.

IMELDA
Identical?

ELI
In every way.

IMELDA
Where is he now?

Eli looks out to the horizon thoughtfully.

ELI
We never found his body.

Imelda gives him a minute.

ELI (CONT’D)
People say that identical twins
instantly know when the other one’s
in pain.

IMELDA
Did you?

ELI
No. I felt a sense of peace and
relief. But that’s how drowning is
supposed to be. The most peaceful
way to die.

The two remain silent for some time. Eli is staring, eyes
wide, down the edge of the cliff as if he’s deciding whether
or not to jump.He kicks his dangling legs anxiously as waves
crash beneath him. His fingernails are digging into the
earth as his hands tightly grip onto the grass behind him.
After a short while of staring down at the waves, he sits
forward and slowly pushes himself to an upright standing
position, during this transition from sitting to standing,
his foot slips and he almost falls.

ELI
Shit, that was close.

Eli  smooths down his hair and exhales deeply. He turns to
his right, expectantly. He looks confused as Imelda is
nowhere to be seen. He stands at the edge of the cliff, all
alone.

END

Leave a Reply

